top of page

GOOD BYE HIGH INTEREST DEBT!

I've finally done it!

After nearly three and a half years of pushing myself to pay off my high interest student loans with about half of my net income, THEY ARE FINALLY GONE! I'm now down to just one federal student loan at $5k and 3.15% interest, and my car loan of about $7k at <2% interest.

Below is my updated net worth/financial milestones chart. Check out that slow but steady climb!

So what's next?

Now that I'm down to a low amount of debt with low interest rates, I can shift my focus. I was sending a minimum of $1400/month to my student loans (one entire 2-week paycheck), so that's how much "extra" money I have to allocate to my other budget categories. In order to avoid lifestyle creep, I'm going to make sure that every last one of those dollars is planned to go towards my new goals.

Those new goals are:

* Beef up my Emergency Fund

* Save for retirement, and max out my Roth IRA yearly

* Save for a future home

I'll keep you all posted as I work towards these new goals, and what I learn along the way.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page