top of page

MAKING A WEEKLY PAY DISTRIBUTION GRAPHIC

So I saw a post on reddit today of someone who decided to make a fun little graph to show themselves how their bills compare to the hours of their work week. I decided to make it for myself, and got the results below...

Overall, REALLY depressing. I spend all Monday working 9 hours to pay taxes, and I don't start working for my own enjoyment until Thursday at 3:30PM. But I suppose it's good to know just how these things break up on both the monthly and weekly level?

HOW TO:

If you are interested in recreating this for yourself, I just used an excel spreadsheet. I found out how much I'm paid a week, and what each of my expenses are weekly using bills/mint.com averages. To find my weekly expenses, I used my monthly expenses, divided them by 30 (approx days in a month), and multiplied them by 7 (for 7 days in a week). I then used this formula to convert those expenses to hours: (40 hours) x ($ value of weekly expense from previous step) / (weekly gross pay) = X hours. After that, I chose a color for that expense and plotted it on the excel file by coloring the correct number of boxes during the times I work.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page