top of page

A PERSPECTIVE ON INTEREST ACCRUAL

Today I realized just how much I pay in interest. The last time I updated my loan amount on the blog was 7/21/14. It's now 8/7/14, and that amount has increased by $147 in only 17 days.

That means that I'm paying over $8.50 per day in interest.

That's enough to go out to lunch, every single day. In fact, I spoiled myself yesterday by getting a veggie sandwich from Subway, and for $7.50, I had enough sandwich for two lunches. And that $8 per day adds up to....

$240/month in interest!

To put this in perspective, in a world where I have no loans and no interest to pay, I'd have an extra $240/month. To me, that would feel like a 10% increase in take-home salary. That's insane. While this whole thing is really depressing, it pushes me to continue paying back my loans as fast and as much as I can.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page