top of page

HOW TO COUPON WITHOUT THE CRAZY

A while back when I was looking at ways to save a bit of money, I found a website called The Krazy Coupon Lady and began to start looking into couponing. The site showed me that you really can save a ton of money if you spend a bit of time each week, but I didn't want to turn into one of those people who held up the lines at registers fumbling through all their clipped coupons and looking like a mess. So I found a way to coupon without looking crazy, that still saves me a bit of money and sometimes gets me free stuff.

Since I didn't want to spend a ton of time clipping coupons, I decided to limit my coupon adventures to CVS. CVS makes the entire process really easy, and has all of my drugstore needs, as well as some groceries too.

To do this you need to:

1. Sign up at CVS.com with your email address, and

2. Have or get an Extra Care Card (free) and connect it to your online account

3. Take your Extra Care Card with you when you go to the store (to scan at the coupon center)

4. Check online at CVS.com for deals and coupons that you can send to your card (no clipping necessary, it automatically shows up on the register!!)

My steal last week: bought 2 Physician Formula Eye Shadows, MADE 2 cents.

How?

Physician Formula Eye Shadows = $6.99 each x 2 = $13.98

Used $4.00/12.00 CVS coupon ($13.98 - $4 = $9.98)

Buy 2 Physicians Formula products, get $10 in Extra Care Bucks (ECBs are money you can spend at CVS on anything you want)

So, with the $10 in ECB's I made a 2 cent profit, assuming I was going to spend that $10 at CVS anyway, and I got 2 eye-shadows out of it!!

My planned steal for this week: FREE roll of paper towels

How?

CVS sent me an email (I signed up for alerts) that if you scan your Extra Care Card at their coupon center, you get a 79 cent coupon for any paper towel purchase.

"Just The Basics Paper Towel" is on promotion this week for 79 cents, minus the 79 cent coupon = FREE. And I can even buy up to ten dollars worth of groceries with my Extra Care Bucks I earned last week (all I have to do is bring in the bottom of the receipt where it printed "You have $10 in ECB's" for them to scan).

You may be wondering how much time I spend looking into deals. I spend about half an hour, once a week during my lunch break. I go here, where the website has already scouted out all the deals for CVS, and decide if there's anything there I was going to buy anyway. Then I head over to CVS.com and send the appropriate coupons to my card, go to the store on my way home f, and wallah, money saved and/or free stuffs!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page